Always verify pricing and state availability on the provider's website before signing up.How our reviews work →

Edessa vs NewSelf

An in-depth comparison of two leading GLP-1 Providers

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

By Eli Marsden · Founding Editor
Editorially reviewed & fact-checked against primary sources · How we verify contentLast reviewed
Edessa logo

Edessa

7.3
★★★3.7/5

Best for: cheap month-to-month compounded GLP-1 with tirzepatide and an oral tablet option

Visit Edessa
VS
NewSelf logo

NewSelf

8.3
★★★★4.2/5

Best for: lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency

Visit NewSelf

Edessa and NewSelf are both GLP-1 Providers competing for the same patients, but they make different trade-offs on price, coverage, and what's included. In our scoring, NewSelf starts lower at $100/mo versus $179/mo, and NewSelf edges ahead overall (8.3 vs 7.3 out of 10). Below we break down pricing, what each plan covers, the six-dimension score, pros and cons, and exactly who should pick which.

Pricing

Edessa

Compounded semaglutide injection (weekly), 1-month planCompounded
$179/mo
semaglutide

Plan table on myedessa.com/product-glp-1-injection.html, verified 2026-09-01: 1 month $179, 3 month $160/mo, 6 month $135/mo. The homepage's 'Start for just $135' is the six-month prepay rate, not the month-to-month price.

Compounded semaglutide oral tablet (daily dissolvable), 1-month planCompounded
$229/mo
semaglutide

1 month $229, 3 month $209/mo, 6 month $199/mo (myedessa.com/product-glp-1-tablet.html). 'Compounded semaglutide medication' is what the page says you receive.

Compounded tirzepatide injection (weekly), 1-month planCompounded
$239/mo
tirzepatide

1 month $239, 3 month $219/mo, 6 month $209/mo (myedessa.com/product-glp-1-tirzepatide.html).

NewSelf

Semaglutide+ (best price)Compounded
$100/mo
semaglutide

All dosages same price

Semaglutide+ (regular)Compounded
$135/mo
semaglutide
Tirzepatide+ (best price)Compounded
$144/mo
tirzepatide

All dosages same price

Tirzepatide+ (regular)Compounded
$225/mo
tirzepatide

Get alerted when GLP-1 prices drop

Join the GLP-1 price-watch list — we re-verify 500+ providers' prices on their own sites and email you when tracked prices move.

What’s included

Edessa

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Included

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Not disclosed

NewSelf

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Included

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Not disclosed

Score breakdown

Both providers are scored on the same six-dimension framework. The gradient bar marks the stronger side on each dimension.

Edessa

7.3/10

Overall

NewSelf

8.3/10

Value25%

8.0A
vs
B
9.0

Effectiveness25%

7.5A
vs
B
8.0

User Experience15%

7.0A
vs
B
8.0

Trust & Safety15%

6.5A
vs
B
8.3

Accessibility10%

7.5A
vs
B
8.5

Support10%

6.5A
vs
B
7.9

Features & Coverage

FeatureEdessaNewSelf
Starting Price$179/mo$100/mo
Features8 features6 features
States Available5149
Compounded✓ Yes✓ Yes
Brand Name
FSA/HSA Accepted✓ Yes
FDA WarningsNone1 warning

About Edessa

Edessa is a Las Vegas-based telehealth brand selling compounded semaglutide injections at $179/mo month-to-month (down to $135/mo on a six-month plan), a daily dissolvable semaglutide tablet from $229/mo and compounded tirzepatide from $239/mo. Care is delivered by OpenLoop Health clinicians and four named US compounding pharmacies, with medication, consult and expedited shipping in one cash-pay price and the same price at every dose.

Read our full Edessa review →

About NewSelf

NewSelf offers compounded semaglutide+ (with B12/Glycine, from $99.97/mo) and compounded tirzepatide+ (with B6/Glycine, from $144.49/mo). LegitScript certified. Available in 48 states + Puerto Rico. Uses 503A licensed pharmacies with third-party testing.

Read our full NewSelf review →

Pros & Cons

Edessa

What we like

  • Month-to-month compounded semaglutide at $179 with no contract, dropping to $135/mo on the six-month plan
  • Tirzepatide and a daily dissolvable tablet sit alongside the standard weekly injection
  • Every product page prints the 1-, 3- and 6-month rate side by side and states 'Same price, every dose'
  • Medication, physician review, ongoing check-ins and free expedited cold-chain shipping are in the one price
  • Four named US pharmacy partners with addresses (RedRock, Health Warehouse, Precision Compounding, Triad Rx)
  • Care delivered through the OpenLoop Health licensed provider network, listed in all 50 states and DC
  • Cash-pay with no insurance required, and HSA/FSA eligible

Watch-outs

  • The advertised '$135' is the six-month prepay rate; month-to-month is $179, and the FAQ still calls $135 a first-month price 'with no contract'
  • The 'no questions asked' guarantee is not the policy: the Terms need proof of no weight loss after five months, minus 25% consult fees
  • The Terms also say all sales are final and consult fees are never refundable
  • The Terms contain no auto-renewal or cancellation section, so what happens at the end of a prepaid term is not published
  • You pay before the clinician review — an OpenLoop clinician meets you after checkout to decide whether you qualify
  • Homepage figures (100,000+ patients, 18% average weight loss, 93% kept it off) carry no cited source
  • No published support hours, and support is email and phone only
  • Compounded GLP-1s are not FDA-approved

NewSelf

What we like

  • Semaglutide+ from $99.97/mo — among the lowest prices in the dataset
  • All dosages at the same price — no price escalation as dose increases
  • LegitScript certified with 503A licensed pharmacies
  • Third-party potency, sterility, and endotoxicity testing
  • 48 states + Puerto Rico coverage
  • B12/B6 + Glycine enhanced formulations
  • No membership fees

Watch-outs

  • Not available in Mississippi and Louisiana
  • Compounded only — no brand-name options
  • Site also promotes AI health optimization and longevity (broader platform)

Our Verdict

Winner: NewSelf

NewSelf edges out Edessa with a higher overall score of 8.3/10 and is particularly strong for lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency. Edessa remains a solid alternative, especially if you're looking for cheap month-to-month compounded GLP-1 with tirzepatide and an oral tablet option.

Choose Edessa if…

You want cheap month-to-month compounded GLP-1 with tirzepatide and an oral tablet option and a starting price around $179/mo.

Choose NewSelf if…

You want lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency and a starting price around $100/mo.

Ready to start? Vetted GLP-1 providers

Vetted telehealth providers that prescribe GLP-1 online.

No insurance needed · vetted by our editors

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

7.3

Liv Body

Compounded GLP-1 paired with a muscle-preservation supplement stack

6.9

DudeMeds

Men seeking no-fee GLP-1 access with oral and injectable options

8.1

Oak

Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide at a flat monthly price

Edessa vs NewSelf: FAQ

NewSelf is cheaper. Its lowest ongoing monthly cash price is $100/mo, compared with $179/mo for Edessa. We compare standing (not first-month promo) prices so the figures reflect what you'd actually pay month to month.
NewSelf scores higher overall at 8.3/10 versus 7.3/10, and is particularly strong for lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency. That said, Edessa is a better fit if you want cheap month-to-month compounded GLP-1 with tirzepatide and an oral tablet option.
Edessa covers more — 51 states versus 49.
Neither Edessa nor NewSelf is currently an affiliate partner, so we earn no commission from either. We rank all providers editorially using the same six-dimension framework and disclose any commercial relationships.
For Semaglutide, NewSelf is cheaper at $100/mo versus $179/mo at Edessa.

Key terms, explained

New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.

Continue exploring Edessa and NewSelf head-to-heads in the same category.

Or see the full category ranking.

Wegovy®, Ozempic®, and Rybelsus® are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. All other product names and trademarks referenced on this page belong to their respective owners. WeightLossRankings.org is not affiliated with any pharmaceutical manufacturer. See trademark disclaimer.