Maximus logo

Maximus Review

Semaglutide & tirzepatide GLP-1 weight-loss telehealth · Independently scored 7.6/10

Best for: men seeking compounded GLP-1 alongside testosterone optimization

7.6
★★★★☆3.8/5

Maximus scores highest on state availability and ease of access.

Semaglutide

$250/mo

Tirzepatide

$360/mo
Same price at every dose

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Included

Provider visits

Not disclosed

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Not disclosed

See plans →

No insurance neededVetted by our editors

Maximus is a men's health platform offering compounded semaglutide (from $149.99/mo with a 12-month plan) and compounded tirzepatide alongside testosterone replacement therapy and longevity treatments. Available in all 50 states + DC. Microdose protocol available for patients with less weight to lose.

By Eli Marsden · Founding Editor
Editorially reviewed & fact-checked against primary sources · How we verify contentLast reviewed
CompoundedMicrodose OptionsSemaglutideTirzepatideMen's Health

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Maximus logo
3.8 / 5
Our editorial rating
Visit Maximus →

from $199.99/mo · no insurance needed

Maximus at a glance

Type
GLP-1 telehealth provider
Medications
Semaglutide, Tirzepatide
Starting price
$199.99/mo (Brand-name oral GLP-1; 'Foundayo starting at $199.99 /mo')
Pricing model
Flat — dose increases don't raise the monthly price
What's included
Medication · Shipping
Availability
All 50 states
FDA status
1 FDA warning letter on record — see below

How we scored Maximus

Each dimension is scored algorithmically from Maximus’s real pricing, drugs offered, verification status, and disclosed inclusions — using the same six-dimension framework we apply to every provider.

Value25%

7.2/10

At $249.99/mo, Maximus runs about 48% above the $169 median for GLP-1 providers. Pricing is flat across doses, so there is no escalation markup as you titrate up.

Effectiveness25%

8.7/10

Maximus offers both semaglutide and tirzepatide — the two GLP-1 molecules with the strongest published weight-loss trial outcomes.

User Experience15%

7.5/10

Online intake and platform experience; 5 platform features disclosed.

Trust & Safety15%

6.6/10

Core details confirmed by our editors; an FDA warning letter is on file (see flag above); dispenses through an accredited compounding pharmacy.

Accessibility10%

8.9/10

Maximus treats patients in all 50 states.

Support10%

6.5/10

Maximus provides standard clinician follow-up; no extended coaching or community program is disclosed.

6scored dimensions
641providers compared
100%verified against live provider sites
Value 25%Effectiveness 25%User Experience 15%Trust & Safety 15%Accessibility 10%Support 10%

Providers that don’t post pricing up front score lower on Value and carry a cost-transparency note in their review. Read the full methodology →

How we verified this Maximus review

Last checked August 2026
  • Confirmed current pricing across 8 dose/plan tiers
  • Confirmed availability in all 50 states
  • Confirmed what the monthly price does and doesn't include
  • Checked the FDA warning-letter database for enforcement actions
  • Walked the public intake/checkout flow on the provider's site

Pricing, availability, and compliance facts come from the provider's own site and primary regulatory records — see the sources below. Editorial confidence in this data: medium.

What we checked

Provider's own pricing page
$200–$1,250/mo across 8 dose/plan tiers — checked August 2026
FDA warning-letter register
An active letter is on file for this provider — see below

What to expect when you sign up with Maximus

We walked Maximus’s public signup flow in July 2026 to document the process — the steps, pricing transparency, and what’s required — before you commit. (We don’t create accounts, enter medical information, or check out; this is the observable funnel, not a prescribing outcome.)

  1. 1Answer a free detailed health questionnaire about your goals and history.
  2. 2Meet with a Maximus physician 100% online to review your information and determine your protocol.
  3. 3If needed, complete lab work from home before starting treatment.
  4. 4Your personalized protocol (medications, supplements, guidance) ships to your door in discreet packaging.
  5. 5Stay in touch with your care team and make doctor-led adjustments over time.
Price shown before you startLive video visit required
  • Offers GLP-1/GIP weight loss with prices up front: compounded GLP-1 from $149.99, GLP-1+GIP from $249.99, brand-name from $199.99.
  • Onboarding includes an online physician visit.
  • Lab work from home is conditional ('if needed'), not stated as always required.
  • Direct-pay with transparent pricing covering doctor visits, medications, and support; no insurance required.
  • Uses US-based licensed compounding pharmacies; ships in discreet, secure packaging.

GLP-1 medications Maximus offers

Tap any medication to read our plain-English guide — how it works, dosing, side effects, and what the trials found.

Peptides Maximus offers

Beyond GLP-1s, Maximus also offers these peptides — tap any for our evidence-based guide.

Pricing

Prices re-verified

1-Month plan, flat-rate across all dose tiersCompounded
$249.99/mo
semaglutide

1-month plan; the 4-month is $199.49/mo and the 12-month $150.32/mo.

1-Month plan, flat-rate across all dose tiersCompounded
$359.99/mo
tirzepatide

1-month plan; the 4-month is $298.99/mo and the 12-month $240.66/mo.

Starting atCompounded
$199.99/mo
orforglipron (foundayo)

Brand-name oral GLP-1; 'Foundayo starting at $199.99 /mo'

Starting atCompounded
$249.99/mo
semaglutide (wegovy)

Brand-name, dispensed as the manufacturer's pen or tablet.

Starting atCompounded
$349.99/mo
semaglutide (ozempic)

Brand-name, dispensed as the manufacturer's pen or tablet.

Starting atCompounded
$349.99/mo
semaglutide (wegovy)

Brand-name, dispensed as the manufacturer's pen or tablet.

Starting atCompounded
$449.99/mo
tirzepatide (zepbound)

Brand-name; multi-dose KwikPen at same self-pay price as vial

Starting atCompounded
$1249.99/mo
tirzepatide (mounjaro)

Brand-name; on-label tirzepatide

Ready to get started?

Plans and promotions change often — check Maximus's current pricing and active discounts before you decide.

See Maximus pricing →

What we like

  • All 50 states + DC coverage
  • Microdose GLP-1 protocol for patients with less weight to lose
  • Established men's health brand
  • Semaglutide from $149.99/mo and tirzepatide from $249.99/mo on 12-month plans ($249.99/$359.99 month-to-month), flat across doses

Watch-outs

  • No LegitScript or PCAB certification found
  • BBB F rating reported by third-party reviewers — complaints about unfulfilled prescriptions
  • Men's health platform — TRT is the core product, GLP-1 is secondary
  • Compounded only — no brand-name options

Maximus: a men's optimization brand that added GLP-1, not a weight-loss clinic that added everything else

Maximus built its name on testosterone and longevity protocols for men, and that origin tells you most of what you need to know before signing up for its weight-loss program. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are real offerings here, available in all 50 states plus DC, but they sit alongside TRT and other men's-health treatments rather than being the main event. If you're a man who wants to lose weight while also working with a platform that handles hormones and broader optimization, that bundling is the whole appeal. If you just want a focused, no-frills GLP-1 program, you're shopping at a store where weight loss is one aisle, not the front door.

How the pricing actually works: flat monthly, every dose included

Maximus uses a flat-rate model, which is genuinely the most patient-friendly part of the offer. Compounded semaglutide starts at $249.99 a month, and that single price includes access to all dose tiers — so when your prescriber moves you up the dose ladder, your bill doesn't climb with it. That matters, because plenty of compounding telehealth brands quietly raise the monthly charge each time your dose increases. The dual-action tirzepatide plan runs noticeably higher, in the mid-two-hundreds per month, but follows the same all-tiers-included logic. For comparison, the category median across providers we track sits at $169, so Maximus's semaglutide plan lands below the middle of the pack while its tirzepatide plan sits above it.

Medication and shipping are folded into that monthly price, and Maximus advertises free, discreet shipping — a small but real plus for anyone who'd rather their packages not announce what's inside.

One pricing caveat worth reading the fine print on

Maximus's refund language refers to returning your money "minus the cost of the doctor consultation," which strongly implies there's a consultation charge baked in somewhere even though the company doesn't spell it out as a separate headline line. Before you commit, ask support directly what the upfront visit costs and what's actually refundable if the program isn't for you. Don't assume the monthly figure is the only money that leaves your account.

The medications: compounded only, with a microdose option that's actually thoughtful

Everything Maximus dispenses for weight loss is compounded — there are no brand-name Wegovy or Zepbound options here. That keeps the price down but means you're relying on a compounding pharmacy's formulation rather than an FDA-approved finished product, the standard trade-off across this corner of telehealth. You get the two workhorse molecules: semaglutide (the GLP-1 in Ozempic and Wegovy) and tirzepatide (the dual GLP-1/GIP agent in Mounjaro and Zepbound).

The standout clinical touch is the microdose protocol. Maximus offers lower-dose GLP-1 plans aimed at people who don't have a large amount of weight to lose — someone targeting the last ten or fifteen pounds rather than a major reduction. A lot of providers only think in terms of the standard escalating dose ladder, so a deliberate low-dose lane is a genuine point of difference and a sign someone designed the program around real patient variety.

Where the trust questions are real

This is the part to take seriously. Maximus doesn't display LegitScript certification or PCAB accreditation for its compounding supply chain. Some competitors put those credentials front and center. On top of that, third-party reviewers have reported a BBB F rating, with complaints specifically about prescriptions that weren't fulfilled. That's not a minor cosmetic gripe; an unfilled prescription is the one failure that actually defeats the purpose of paying for the service.

None of that means the medication you receive is unsafe; the molecules themselves are well-studied. The platform does have an FDA warning letter on file, covered in the regulatory notice below. And the absence of visible accreditation plus documented fulfillment complaints is exactly the kind of operational risk that should temper your expectations. Start with a single month before committing to anything longer. You can read how we weigh these signals in our scoring methodology.

Who should choose Maximus, and who should walk

Maximus makes the most sense for one specific person: a man who wants to combine GLP-1 weight loss with testosterone or broader optimization under a single login, and who values the flat all-doses-included pricing enough to accept the trust caveats. The microdose option also makes it worth a look for anyone — within its men's-health framing — chasing a modest amount of weight loss rather than a dramatic one.

  • Good fit: men already interested in TRT or longevity care who want weight loss bundled in
  • Good fit: patients who want predictable pricing that doesn't rise with each dose increase
  • Good fit: people targeting a smaller amount of weight loss who want a true microdose plan
  • Skip it: anyone who wants brand-name semaglutide or tirzepatide rather than compounded
  • Skip it: women, or anyone wanting a dedicated weight-loss clinic where GLP-1 is the primary focus
  • Skip it: patients who won't proceed without visible LegitScript/PCAB credentials and a clean complaint record

Bottom line

Maximus offers a legitimately appealing structure — flat monthly pricing with all dose tiers included, a thoughtful microdose lane, nationwide availability, and the convenience of weight loss alongside men's hormone care. The semaglutide plan in particular is priced below the category median. But the unanswered consultation-fee question, the missing compounding accreditations, and the reported fulfillment complaints are real reasons to go in cautiously. If you're the man this platform was built for, start with one month, confirm every charge in writing before you pay, and judge the fulfillment for yourself before you rely on it long-term.

For a side-by-side, Direct Meds ($249/month) and Collective ($59/month) are the most comparable options to weigh against Maximus.

The Bottom Line

Maximus scores highest on state availability and ease of access.

Score: 7.6/10Best for: men seeking compounded GLP-1 alongside testosterone optimizationFrom: $199.99/mo

Ready to start with Maximus?

Starting at $199.99/month. See current pricing and start your free consultation.

Maximus might not be your best fit if…

We rank editorially, so here’s where a different provider we track may serve you better.

  • If you want brand-name Ozempic, Wegovy, Mounjaro or Zepbound, consider GobyMeds.
  • If the lowest possible monthly price is your top priority, consider Collective (from $59/mo).
  • If you want built-in coaching and behavior-change support, consider Found.

Alternatives to Maximus

8.3/ 10
Verified partner

Found

Best for: mainstream telehealth GLP-1 access

★★★★☆4.2/5

Editorial score · methodology

$99/mosemaglutide
$99/motirzepatide
CompoundedSemaglutideTirzepatideOrforglipron
Get StartedRead full Found review →
8.1/ 10
Verified partner

GobyMeds

Best for: budget-conscious shoppers

★★★★☆4.1/5

Editorial score · methodology

$93/mosemaglutide
$133/motirzepatide
CompoundedSemaglutideTirzepatide
Get StartedRead full GobyMeds review →
7.7/ 10
Verified partner

Ivim Health

Best for: budget-conscious shoppers

★★★★☆3.9/5

Editorial score · methodology

$75/mosemaglutide
$149/motirzepatide
CompoundedSemaglutideTirzepatideNAD+SermorelinFDA Warning
Get StartedRead full Ivim Health review →

Frequently Asked Questions

Maximus, also known as Maximus Tribe, is a men's health platform whose primary focus is testosterone optimization - helping men address low testosterone through an online clinical program. It has expanded its offering to include compounded GLP-1 weight loss medications: semaglutide (from $149.99 per month) and tirzepatide (from $249.99 per month). Maximus is available in all 50 states and Washington, D.C., and it also offers a microdose GLP-1 protocol designed for men who have a smaller amount of weight to lose. Shipping is free and discreet.
Maximus is an established brand in the men's health telehealth space, having operated as a testosterone optimization platform before adding GLP-1 weight loss. It is a real company with a traceable online presence and a track record of fulfilling testosterone programs. However, there are meaningful concerns to weigh: third-party reviewers (including Innerbody) have cited a BBB F rating driven by complaints about unfulfilled prescriptions and poor resolution. No LegitScript certification or PCAB pharmacy accreditation was found during our review. These factors lower our editorial confidence to medium. Review current third-party reviews before enrolling.
Yes - Maximus prescribes real, pharmaceutical-grade compounded medications dispensed from licensed U.S. pharmacies. For testosterone, it is a prescribed, compounded testosterone formulation. For weight loss, it uses compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide, which contain the same active GLP-1 ingredients found in brand-name Wegovy and Mounjaro respectively - but prepared by compounding pharmacies rather than the original manufacturers. Compounded GLP-1 medications are not FDA-approved as finished products. The platform does not sell supplements or over-the-counter alternatives.
Maximus offers flat-rate monthly plans that include access to all dose tiers within each medication. Compounded semaglutide starts at $149.99 per month and compounded tirzepatide starts at $249.99 per month. Shipping is free. A unique feature is that your monthly price does not increase as your prescribing physician raises your dose - the flat-rate model covers every dose level. A microdose semaglutide option is also available at a potentially lower starting point for men with less weight to lose, though exact microdose pricing should be confirmed directly on maximustribe.com.
Testosterone optimization is Maximus's foundational program - men can address low T through a clinical protocol that includes lab testing, a licensed physician consultation, and an ongoing TRT program. The weight loss GLP-1 program (semaglutide or tirzepatide) sits alongside this as a complementary offering. Maximus also covers longevity and performance treatments for men. For weight-loss-focused patients who don't need TRT, the GLP-1 program is accessible on its own, but the platform's medical expertise and community are built primarily around the testosterone optimization mission.
Yes. Maximus offers a microdose GLP-1 protocol specifically designed for men who have less weight to lose - typically those aiming to shed 10 to 20 pounds rather than achieving major weight loss. Microdosing uses lower semaglutide doses than the standard escalation protocol, which may produce fewer side effects while still supporting modest weight reduction. Your prescribing physician determines eligibility for the microdose track during intake. The standard escalation protocol remains available for patients pursuing more significant weight loss goals.
The biggest red flag is an FDA warning letter on file, which we flag at the top of this review — read it before starting. We also note: No LegitScript or PCAB certification found; BBB F rating reported by third-party reviewers — complaints about unfulfilled prescriptions; Men's health platform — TRT is the core product, GLP-1 is secondary.

Key terms, explained

New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.

Regulatory notice

Maximus received an FDA warning letter dated June 8, 2026

The letter concerns false & misleading claims/misbranded (telehealth). FDA warning letters are public regulatory communications and do not, on their own, constitute a finding of illegal activity — companies often respond with corrective action.

Read the full letter →

Sources

The primary regulatory filings and peer-reviewed studies cited throughout this Maximus review:

Sources & methodology — as of October 2026
  1. 1.Weight Loss Rankings — GLP-1 Pricing Index 2026 (our independent dataset)— WeightLossRankings.org.
  2. 2.FDA — Compounding and the 503A Pharmacy Framework— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
  3. 3.FDA — Drug Shortages Database (current shortage listings)— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
  4. 4.PCAB — Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board Standards— Accreditation Commission for Health Care (ACHC) / PCAB.
  5. 5.KFF — Medicaid coverage research (anti-obesity & GLP-1 drug policy)— Kaiser Family Foundation.
  6. 6.STEP 1 Trial — Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity (Wilding JPH et al.)— New England Journal of Medicine.PMID: 33567185.
  7. 7.FDA — Wegovy (semaglutide) Approval History via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
  8. 8.FDA — Ozempic (semaglutide) Prescribing Information via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
  9. 9.SURMOUNT-1 Trial — Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (Jastreboff AM et al.)— New England Journal of Medicine.PMID: 35658024.
  10. 10.FDA — Zepbound (tirzepatide) Approval History via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
  11. 11.FDA — Mounjaro (tirzepatide) Prescribing Information via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
  12. 12.SURMOUNT-5 Trial — Tirzepatide vs. Semaglutide Head-to-Head in Obesity (Garvey WT et al.)— New England Journal of Medicine.PMID: 40334173.

See Maximus's current pricing

Plans start at $199.99/month. Start your free consultation to check eligibility and today's price.