Always verify pricing and state availability on the provider's website before signing up.How our reviews work →

1st Optimal vs Docberry

An in-depth comparison of two leading GLP-1 Providers

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

By Eli Marsden · Founding Editor
Editorially reviewed & fact-checked against primary sources · How we verify contentLast reviewed
1st Optimal logo

1st Optimal

6.7
★★★☆☆3.4/5

Best for: GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program

Visit 1st Optimal →
VS

Docberry

5.9
★★★☆☆3/5

Best for: buyers who want app-based tracking and will prepay several months upfront

Visit Docberry →

1st Optimal and Docberry are both GLP-1 Providers competing for the same patients, but they make different trade-offs on price, coverage, and what's included. In our scoring, 1st Optimal starts lower at $99/mo versus $169/mo, and 1st Optimal edges ahead overall (6.7 vs 5.9 out of 10). Below we break down pricing, what each plan covers, the six-dimension score, pros and cons, and exactly who should pick which.

Pricing

1st Optimal

Weight Loss Care membership — medication not includedBrand-name
$99/mo
semaglutide

Care membership only — the GLP-1 medication is billed separately and is not priced.

Docberry

4-month supply, one upfront charge of $796Compounded
$199/mo
semaglutide

$796 is charged once for four months. The site shows this as "$199/mo".

12-month supply, one upfront charge of $2,028Compounded
$169/mo
semaglutide

$2,028 is charged once for twelve months. The homepage headline "Starting at $169/mo" is this bundle's average, not a monthly bill.

3-month supply, one upfront charge of $1,745Compounded
$582/mo
tirzepatide

$1,745 is charged once for three months. Shown on site as "$582/mo".

Get alerted when GLP-1 prices drop

Join the GLP-1 price-watch list — we re-verify 510+ providers' prices on their own sites and email you when tracked prices move.

What’s included

1st Optimal

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Not disclosed

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Included

Docberry

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Included

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Not disclosed

Score breakdown

Both providers are scored on the same six-dimension framework. The gradient bar marks the stronger side on each dimension.

1st Optimal

6.7/10

Overall

Docberry

5.9/10

Value25%

6.5A
vs
B
4.0

Effectiveness25%

7.0A
vs
B
7.0

User Experience15%

6.5A
vs
B
6.0

Trust & Safety15%

6.5A
vs
B
5.5

Accessibility10%

6.5A
vs
B
6.5

Support10%

7.4A
vs
B
7.5

Features & Coverage

Feature1st OptimalDocberry
Starting Price✓$99/mo$169/mo
Features✓8 features6 features
States AvailableNot disclosedNot disclosed
Compounded—✓ Yes
Brand Name✓ Yes—
FSA/HSA Accepted——
FDA WarningsNoneNone

About 1st Optimal

1st Optimal is a Michigan-based telehealth and functional-medicine platform offering GLP-1 weight loss medications, including semaglutide and tirzepatide, as once-weekly injections or daily oral tablets. Its model pairs prescription GLP-1 therapy with at-home lab testing, blood-work interpretation, unlimited coaching, and personalized protocols framed around long-term weight loss and longevity. Care is delivered virtually by credentialed providers, and treatments ship to the home with no long-term contracts. The site does not publish monthly pricing or a state list.

Read our full 1st Optimal review →

About Docberry

Docberry is a Florida-based telehealth and longevity practice selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide through multi-month supply bundles managed in its own app. Its eligibility test screens for the recognized GLP-1 contraindications before anything else. The catch is that every GLP-1 price is a prepaid bundle — the advertised $169/mo is a 12-month plan costing $2,028 upfront, and no month-to-month option is offered.

Read our full Docberry review →

Pros & Cons

1st Optimal

What we like

  • Offers both semaglutide and tirzepatide with injectable and oral formats
  • Functional-medicine approach with at-home labs and blood-work interpretation
  • Unlimited coaching and ongoing support included
  • No long-term contracts
  • Board-certified doctors and nurse practitioners referenced

Watch-outs

  • No public monthly pricing disclosed
  • No published state availability list
  • Compounded vs branded sourcing not clarified on site
  • Pricing only revealed after quiz or consultation

Docberry

What we like

  • Eligibility test screens for pregnancy, substance use, eating disorders, diabetes, thyroid cancer and MEN first
  • Care and progress tracking run through a real published app on both iOS and Android
  • Publishes a toll-free support line, (800) 382-3276, as well as email
  • Also offers non-GLP-1 lipotropic options (Lipo-Mino $399, MICC $349) for people who cannot take a GLP-1

Watch-outs

  • No month-to-month option exists — the cheapest semaglutide entry is $796 paid upfront
  • The "Starting at $169/mo" headline is a 12-month prepay averaging $2,028 charged in one go
  • Tirzepatide works out at $582/mo, several times what most compounded sellers charge
  • No refund policy is published; the FAQ offers only to "address them on a case-by-case basis"
  • Neither the pharmacy nor the prescribing medical group is named
  • No state list is published, and the "in Florida" in page titles is search wording, not a stated limit

Our Verdict

Winner: 1st Optimal

1st Optimal edges out Docberry with a higher overall score of 6.7/10 and is particularly strong for GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program. Docberry remains a solid alternative, especially if you're looking for buyers who want app-based tracking and will prepay several months upfront.

Choose 1st Optimal if…

You want GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program and a starting price around $99/mo.

Choose Docberry if…

You want buyers who want app-based tracking and will prepay several months upfront and a starting price around $169/mo.

Ready to start? Vetted GLP-1 providers

Vetted telehealth providers that prescribe GLP-1 online.

No insurance needed · vetted by our editors

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

7.6

Sprout Health

LegitScript-certified compounded GLP-1 via named pharmacies

7.8

Care Bare Rx

LGBTQ+-inclusive compounded GLP-1 telehealth

8.2

Enhance MD

Lab-monitored compounded GLP-1 with mandatory video visit

1st Optimal vs Docberry: FAQ

1st Optimal is cheaper. Its lowest ongoing monthly cash price is $99/mo, compared with $169/mo for Docberry. We compare standing (not first-month promo) prices so the figures reflect what you'd actually pay month to month.
1st Optimal scores higher overall at 6.7/10 versus 5.9/10, and is particularly strong for GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program. That said, Docberry is a better fit if you want buyers who want app-based tracking and will prepay several months upfront.
Neither 1st Optimal nor Docberry publicly lists its exact state availability. Most national GLP-1 telehealth providers operate in the majority of states — confirm your state is covered during sign-up.
Neither 1st Optimal nor Docberry is currently an affiliate partner, so we earn no commission from either. We rank all providers editorially using the same six-dimension framework and disclose any commercial relationships.
For Semaglutide, 1st Optimal is cheaper at $99/mo versus $169/mo at Docberry.

Key terms, explained

New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.

Continue exploring 1st Optimal and Docberry head-to-heads in the same category.

Or see the full category ranking.

Wegovy®, Ozempic®, and Rybelsus® are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. All other product names and trademarks referenced on this page belong to their respective owners. WeightLossRankings.org is not affiliated with any pharmaceutical manufacturer. See trademark disclaimer.