JumpstartMD logo

JumpstartMD Review

Semaglutide GLP-1 weight-loss telehealth · Independently scored 7.1/10

Best for: mainstream telehealth GLP-1 access

7.1
★★★★☆3.6/5

JumpstartMD scores highest on the strength of its clinical program — drug options and dosing support.

Semaglutide

$49first month

then $379/mo ongoing

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Not disclosed

Provider visits

Not disclosed

Shipping

Not disclosed

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Included

See plans →

No insurance neededVetted by our editors

Compare top-rated alternatives ↓

Physician-led medical weight loss clinic offering GLP-1 medications.

By Eli Marsden · Founding Editor
Editorially reviewed & fact-checked against primary sources · How we verify contentLast reviewed
SemaglutideTirzepatide

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Vetted alternatives to JumpstartMD

7.6/ 10
Verified partner

Sprout Health

Best for: LegitScript-certified compounded GLP-1 via named pharmacies

★★★★☆3.8/5

Editorial score · methodology

$149/mosemaglutide
$199/motirzepatide
CompoundedSemaglutideTirzepatideNAD+LegitScript VerifiedFDA Warning
Get StartedRead full Sprout Health review →
8.2/ 10
Verified partner

Enhance MD

Best for: lab-monitored compounded GLP-1 with mandatory video visit

★★★★☆4.1/5

Editorial score · methodology

$112/mosemaglutide
$169/motirzepatide
CompoundedSemaglutideTirzepatideNAD+
Get StartedRead full Enhance MD review →
7.1/ 10
Verified partner

MEDVi

Best for: switching between compounded and brand-name GLP-1 through one provider

★★★★☆3.6/5

Editorial score · methodology

$249/mosemaglutide
CompoundedSemaglutideTirzepatideFDA Warning
Get StartedRead full MEDVi review →
JumpstartMD logo
3.6 / 5
Our editorial rating
Visit JumpstartMD →

from $49/mo · no insurance needed

JumpstartMD at a glance

Type
GLP-1 telehealth provider
Medications
Semaglutide, Tirzepatide
Starting price
$49/mo
What's included
Coaching
Availability
1 states
FDA status
No FDA warning letter on record

How we scored JumpstartMD

Each dimension is scored algorithmically from JumpstartMD’s real pricing, drugs offered, verification status, and disclosed inclusions — using the same six-dimension framework we apply to every provider.

Value25%

5.6/10

At $379/mo, JumpstartMD runs about 124% above the $169 median for GLP-1 providers, and the first month drops to $49.

Effectiveness25%

8.5/10

JumpstartMD offers both semaglutide and tirzepatide — the two GLP-1 molecules with the strongest published weight-loss trial outcomes. FDA-approved brand options are available alongside compounded versions.

User Experience15%

7.0/10

Online intake and platform experience; 2 platform features disclosed.

Trust & Safety15%

8.2/10

Key details fully confirmed by our editors; no FDA warning letters on file.

Accessibility10%

5.7/10

JumpstartMD operates in a limited 1-state footprint — check availability first.

Support10%

7.3/10

Coaching/dietitian access included.

6scored dimensions
641providers compared
100%verified against live provider sites
Value 25%Effectiveness 25%User Experience 15%Trust & Safety 15%Accessibility 10%Support 10%

Providers that don’t post pricing up front score lower on Value and carry a cost-transparency note in their review. Read the full methodology →

How we verified this JumpstartMD review

Last checked August 2026
  • Confirmed current pricing across 1 dose/plan tier
  • Confirmed availability in 1 state
  • Confirmed what the monthly price does and doesn't include
  • Checked the FDA warning-letter database for enforcement actions
  • Walked the public intake/checkout flow on the provider's site

Pricing, availability, and compliance facts come from the provider's own site and primary regulatory records — see the sources below. Editorial confidence in this data: high.

What we checked

Provider's own pricing page
$379/mo across 1 dose/plan tier — checked August 2026
FDA warning-letter register
No letter on file for this provider

What to expect when you sign up with JumpstartMD

We walked JumpstartMD’s public signup flow in July 2026 to document the process — the steps, pricing transparency, and what’s required — before you commit. (We don’t create accounts, enter medical information, or check out; this is the observable funnel, not a prescribing outcome.)

  1. 1Book a consultation (limited-time $99, regularly $379), in-person or online.
  2. 2Meet with the team at one of 14 California locations (equipped with InBody devices) or via telehealth.
  3. 3Receive a personalized weight-loss plan with coaching and GLP-1 or other medications if appropriate.
Price shown before you start
  • Get-started/consultation price is shown up front ($99 limited-time, regularly $379); individual medication prices are not listed on the homepage.
  • California-only, offering both in-person clinic visits and online telehealth.
  • Offers brand-name GLP-1s (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, Rybelsus) plus compounded semaglutide/tirzepatide.
  • Also provides menopause/perimenopause care, low-testosterone care, and vitamin therapy.
  • Free consultation phone line advertised.

JumpstartMD customer support

GLP-1 medications JumpstartMD offers

Tap any medication to read our plain-English guide — how it works, dosing, side effects, and what the trials found.

Pricing

Prices re-verified

Program start fee — promotionalBrand-name
$379$49/mo
Save 87% right now
semaglutide

⛔ A PROGRAM START FEE, not a monthly medication cost. 'Get started for $49 ($379) for a limited time only!' — $379 regular, $49 promotional. The GLP-1 medication is not priced on any public page.

Ready to get started?

Plans and promotions change often — check JumpstartMD's current pricing and active discounts before you decide.

See JumpstartMD pricing →

What we like

  • Both semaglutide and tirzepatide available

Watch-outs

  • Pricing not publicly disclosed

JumpstartMD: a brick-and-mortar California clinic, not a mail-order app

The first thing to understand about JumpstartMD is that it is not really a telehealth company at all. It is a physician-led medical weight loss practice with 14 actual offices across California, from Burlingame and San Francisco down to Irvine, and you generally see a doctor in person. If you want to fill out a web form at midnight and have vials mailed to your door, this is the wrong provider. If you live in the Bay Area, Monterey Bay, or Orange County and you specifically want a real clinic where a physician examines you and follows you over time, JumpstartMD is built for exactly that.

Brand-name GLP-1s, prescribed the conventional way

JumpstartMD prescribes the FDA-approved, brand-name GLP-1 medications: Ozempic and Wegovy on the semaglutide side, and Mounjaro and Zepbound on the tirzepatide side. That is an important distinction, because many of the cheaper online programs on this site dispense compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide mixed by a partner pharmacy. JumpstartMD does not work that way — there are no compounding partners on file, and the model is a doctor writing you a prescription for an established brand drug that you fill at a regular pharmacy.

The practical upside is that you are getting the exact, tested product the manufacturer makes, under the supervision of a licensed physician. The practical downside is that brand-name GLP-1s are expensive and frequently caught up in insurance back-and-forth and supply shortages, none of which JumpstartMD can wave away.

The pricing question you have to ask before you sign up

Here is the honest part: JumpstartMD does not publish its pricing. There is no membership rate, no first-month teaser, and no medication price listed anywhere on the site. The clinic operates on a membership/program model common to in-person medical weight loss practices, but the actual dollar figures are quoted to you directly rather than posted online. On top of the program fee, the medication itself is billed separately — either through your insurance or as cash at the pharmacy — and brand GLP-1s carry a high list price that can run well over a thousand dollars a month without coverage.

So before committing, you need to get two numbers in writing: what JumpstartMD charges for the program/visits, and what your actual out-of-pocket cost for the drug will be after insurance. Do not assume the membership fee includes the medication, because it does not.

  • Program/membership fee — quoted at the clinic, not published online
  • Medication cost — separate, billed via insurance or cash pharmacy price
  • No compounded option, so there is no low-cost workaround on the drug itself

What genuinely sets it apart: in-person physician care

The real differentiator is the model itself: this is a doctor's office, not a chat interface. You get face-to-face physician oversight, in-person follow-up at a fixed location, and continuity with a practice rather than whichever clinician happens to pick up your message that day. For people who have struggled to lose weight, who have other medical conditions, or who simply want a human in the room monitoring their progress and side effects, that hands-on structure is worth a lot. It is exactly what the app-first competitors cannot offer.

Who should choose JumpstartMD

  • You live in California within reach of one of the 14 clinics
  • You want brand-name Ozempic, Wegovy, Mounjaro, or Zepbound — not compounded versions
  • You value seeing a physician in person and being followed over time
  • You have insurance that may cover a brand GLP-1, or you are comfortable paying brand pricing

Who should skip it

  • You live outside California — the clinic does not serve other states at all
  • You want fully remote, mail-to-your-door telehealth with no office visits
  • You are price-shopping and need a published, predictable monthly cost up front
  • You specifically want low-cost compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide

Trust and medical oversight

On the safety side, JumpstartMD looks solid. There are no FDA warning letters on file for this provider, and the care is delivered by physicians at established clinics using FDA-approved brand medications rather than compounded products. That combination — real doctors, real offices, name-brand drugs — is about as conservative and low-risk as GLP-1 access gets. The main caveat is simply transparency: because pricing and program details are not posted publicly, you are relying on what the clinic tells you at intake, so get the specifics in writing. You can see how we weigh these factors in our scoring methodology.

Bottom line

JumpstartMD is a credible, physician-run, in-person option for Californians who want brand-name GLP-1 weight loss treatment with real clinical supervision. Its strengths are exactly the things online-only programs lack: a doctor you can sit across from and a practice that follows you. Its limits are just as clear — it is California-only, it offers no compounded budget route, and it makes you ask for pricing rather than showing it. If you are in the state and want hands-on care over a cheap mail-order subscription, it is well worth a consultation. If you are anywhere else, or you need a posted price and a package in the mail, look elsewhere.

For a side-by-side, MangoRx ($299/month) and Collective ($59/month) are the most comparable options to weigh against JumpstartMD.

The Bottom Line

JumpstartMD scores highest on the strength of its clinical program — drug options and dosing support.

Score: 7.1/10Best for: mainstream telehealth GLP-1 accessFrom: $49/mo

Ready to start with JumpstartMD?

Starting at $49/month. See current pricing and start your free consultation.

JumpstartMD might not be your best fit if…

We rank editorially, so here’s where a different provider we track may serve you better.

  • If the lowest possible monthly price is your top priority, consider Collective (from $59/mo).
  • If you live outside its coverage area and need nationwide access, consider MEDVi.

Frequently Asked Questions

JumpstartMD is a physician-led medical weight-loss program that combines nutrition and lifestyle coaching with medical supervision, and it also prescribes GLP-1 medications such as Ozempic, Wegovy, Mounjaro and Zepbound when appropriate. Care is delivered by physicians at its in-person California clinics.
Historically JumpstartMD built its program around a lower-carbohydrate, whole-food eating approach paired with regular physician visits and accountability, rather than packaged meals or shakes. Today that lifestyle foundation is combined with optional GLP-1 medication when a physician determines it's clinically appropriate.
JumpstartMD does not publicly publish its membership or program pricing, so you'll receive an exact quote during consultation. Because any medication is billed separately from the program, ask for the all-in monthly cost (visits plus prescriptions) before you commit.
JumpstartMD operates exclusively in California, with roughly 14 physical locations including Burlingame, San Francisco, San Jose, Marin, Irvine, Redwood City, Walnut Creek and others. It's an in-person clinic model rather than a nationwide telehealth service.
JumpstartMD is a physician-founded medical weight-loss company that runs its own branded clinics across California. It does not publish details of its current corporate ownership, so check the company's own site for the latest information.
Yes. Alongside its lifestyle program, JumpstartMD physicians can prescribe brand-name GLP-1 drugs including Ozempic, Wegovy, Mounjaro and Zepbound when medically appropriate. Eligibility and any insurance coverage are assessed directly with your physician.
Yes — JumpstartMD is a legitimate telehealth provider. Our editors independently verified its pricing and offering and scored it 7.1/10. As with any medication, consult a licensed clinician before starting.
We don't find any safety warnings on file (no FDA action). The concerns our review flags are mostly transparency-related: Pricing not publicly disclosed. None are safety issues, but they're worth weighing before you sign up.

Key terms, explained

New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.

Sources

The primary regulatory filings and peer-reviewed studies cited throughout this JumpstartMD review:

Sources & methodology — as of October 2026
  1. 1.Weight Loss Rankings — GLP-1 Pricing Index 2026 (our independent dataset)— WeightLossRankings.org.
  2. 2.FDA — Compounding and the 503A Pharmacy Framework— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
  3. 3.FDA — Drug Shortages Database (current shortage listings)— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
  4. 4.PCAB — Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board Standards— Accreditation Commission for Health Care (ACHC) / PCAB.
  5. 5.KFF — Medicaid coverage research (anti-obesity & GLP-1 drug policy)— Kaiser Family Foundation.
  6. 6.STEP 1 Trial — Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity (Wilding JPH et al.)— New England Journal of Medicine.PMID: 33567185.
  7. 7.FDA — Wegovy (semaglutide) Approval History via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
  8. 8.FDA — Ozempic (semaglutide) Prescribing Information via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.

See JumpstartMD's current pricing

Plans start at $49/month. Start your free consultation to check eligibility and today's price.