Virta Health vs Collective
An in-depth comparison of two leading GLP-1 Providers
WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Virta Health
Best for: Plan members wanting nutrition-first care with optional monitored GLP-1 use
Visit Virta Health →
Collective
Best for: the lowest flat medication price if you can absorb an annual membership fee
Visit Collective →Virta Health and Collective are both GLP-1 Providers competing for the same patients, but they make different trade-offs on price, coverage, and what's included. In our scoring, Collective starts at $59/mo, and Collective edges ahead overall (8.3 vs 7.2 out of 10). Below we break down pricing, what each plan covers, the six-dimension score, pros and cons, and exactly who should pick which.
Pricing
Virta Health
Pricing not publicly listed.
Collective
Verbatim: 'Compounded Semaglutide: $59/month. Same price, every dose. Cancel anytime.' ⛔ EXCLUDES the required membership — the site states 'What does it cost? $59/month + $199 annual membership.' First-year total is $907 ($75.58/mo equivalent).
Verbatim: 'Compounded Tirzepatide: $69/month. Same price, any dose.' ⛔ EXCLUDES the required membership — 'The cost is $69/month + $199 annual membership.' First-year total is $1,027 ($85.58/mo equivalent).
Verbatim: 'Requires Collective membership: 21 day free trial, then a low annual $199 membership fee. No recurring monthly membership charges.' Charged yearly, not monthly. Terms of Use: 'all membership fees are non-refundable, and partial-period refunds are not provided.'
Get alerted when GLP-1 prices drop
Join the GLP-1 price-watch list — we re-verify 500+ providers' prices on their own sites and email you when tracked prices move.
What’s included
Virta Health
What the monthly price covers
Medication
Not disclosed
Provider visits
Not disclosed
Shipping
Not disclosed
Lab work
Not disclosed
Coaching
Included
Collective
What the monthly price covers
Medication
Included
Provider visits
Included
Shipping
Included
Lab work
Not disclosed
Coaching
Not disclosed
Score breakdown
Both providers are scored on the same six-dimension framework. The gradient bar marks the stronger side on each dimension.
Virta Health
7.2/10
Collective
8.3/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
Features & Coverage
| Feature | Virta Health | Collective |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | — | $59/mo |
| Features | ✓8 features | 3 features |
| States Available | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Compounded | — | ✓ Yes |
| Brand Name | — | — |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | — | — |
| FDA Warnings | None | None |
About Virta Health
Virta Health is a nutrition-first virtual program for diabetes reversal and sustainable weight loss, distributed through employers and health plans at no cost to members. Its core approach uses low-carb nutrition therapy and coaching rather than drugs, but Virta also offers a Responsible Prescribing track that includes optimized GLP-1 use (oral or injectable) with clinician monitoring and a planned medication off-ramp. Virta does not push GLP-1s for most members and is not a direct cash-pay prescriber, so GLP-1 access depends on the plan chosen.
Read our full Virta Health review →About Collective
Collective (collective.org) is a membership-based telehealth platform from the founder of Thrive Market, selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide at a flat price on every dose. Medication is billed separately from a required annual membership, and the program bundles unlimited clinician messaging, dietitian access and express cold shipping.
Read our full Collective review →Pros & Cons
Virta Health
What we like
- Offers a Responsible Prescribing track with optimized GLP-1 use
- Clinically monitored medication off-ramp toward nutrition therapy
- Nutrition-first model shown to rival GLP-1 weight loss (about 13% at 1 year)
- Provided at no cost to members through employers and health plans
- Strong evidence base for diabetes reversal and metabolic health
Watch-outs
- Primarily a nutrition program; GLP-1s are a secondary track
- Distributed via employers and health plans, no direct cash-pay
- Deliberately discourages GLP-1 use for most members
- GLP-1 access depends on the specific program the plan selects
Collective
What we like
- The lowest published compounded GLP-1 medication prices we track — $59/month semaglutide and $69/month tirzepatide
- Flat pricing at every dose, so titrating up does not raise the bill
- Unlimited clinician messaging and registered-dietitian access are included rather than upsold
- 21-day free trial on the membership before the annual fee is charged
Watch-outs
- The advertised $59 and $69 exclude a mandatory $199 annual membership — the real first-year cost is $907 and $1,027
- Membership fees are non-refundable and no partial-period refunds are given
- Compounding pharmacies are described only as 'independent, third-party licensed pharmacies' and are never named
- State availability is not published on the marketing site
Our Verdict
Collective edges out Virta Health with a higher overall score of 8.3/10 and is particularly strong for the lowest flat medication price if you can absorb an annual membership fee. Virta Health remains a solid alternative, especially if you're looking for Plan members wanting nutrition-first care with optional monitored GLP-1 use.
Choose Virta Health if…
You want Plan members wanting nutrition-first care with optional monitored GLP-1 use.
Choose Collective if…
You want the lowest flat medication price if you can absorb an annual membership fee and a starting price around $59/mo.
Ready to start? Vetted GLP-1 providers
Vetted telehealth providers that prescribe GLP-1 online.
No insurance needed · vetted by our editors
WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more
ShedRx
Mainstream telehealth GLP-1 access
From $149/mo
Get started →bmiMD
Mainstream telehealth GLP-1 access
From $99/mo
Get started →Synergy Rx
Broadest drug catalog in the Lion MD white-label cluster
From $199/mo
Get started →Virta Health vs Collective: FAQ
Key terms, explained
New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.
- Semaglutide · Drugs and brands
- Tirzepatide · Drugs and brands
- Compounded GLP-1 · Pharmacy and drug forms
- 503A pharmacy · Pharmacy and drug forms
- PCAB accreditation · Pharmacy and drug forms
- Prior authorization (PA) · Insurance and regulatory
- Off-label use · Insurance and regulatory
- FDA Drug Shortage List · Insurance and regulatory
Related comparisons
Continue exploring Virta Health and Collective head-to-heads in the same category.
- Virta Health vs Amazon One Medical
- Virta Health vs Vytora Health
- Virta Health vs CoreAge Rx
- Collective vs EverSlim
- Collective vs Found
- Collective vs NewSelf
Or see the full category ranking.
Wegovy®, Ozempic®, and Rybelsus® are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. All other product names and trademarks referenced on this page belong to their respective owners. WeightLossRankings.org is not affiliated with any pharmaceutical manufacturer. See trademark disclaimer.