NewSelf vs StaveMD
An in-depth comparison of two leading GLP-1 Providers
WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

NewSelf
Best for: lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency
Visit NewSelf →
StaveMD
Best for: people who want semaglutide, tirzepatide, an oral tablet or a microdose from one brand, billed monthly
Visit StaveMD →NewSelf and StaveMD are both GLP-1 Providers competing for the same patients, but they make different trade-offs on price, coverage, and what's included. In our scoring, NewSelf starts lower at $100/mo versus $149/mo, and NewSelf edges ahead overall (8.3 vs 7.1 out of 10). Below we break down pricing, what each plan covers, the six-dimension score, pros and cons, and exactly who should pick which.
Pricing
NewSelf
All dosages same price
All dosages same price
StaveMD
12 weeks $417, 24 weeks $774, 52 weeks $1,417 upfront (the "$109/mo" headline)
12 weeks $567, 24 weeks $1,074, 52 weeks $2,197 upfront (the "$169/mo" headline)
12 weeks $567, 24 weeks $1,074, 52 weeks $2,067 upfront (the "$159/mo" headline)
12 weeks $477, 24 weeks $894, 52 weeks $1,677 upfront (the "$129/mo" headline)
Same ladder as semaglutide microdose: 12 weeks $477, 24 weeks $894, 52 weeks $1,677
Get alerted when GLP-1 prices drop
Join the GLP-1 price-watch list — we re-verify 520+ providers' prices on their own sites and email you when tracked prices move.
What’s included
NewSelf
What the monthly price covers
Medication
Included
Provider visits
Included
Shipping
Included
Lab work
Not disclosed
Coaching
Not disclosed
StaveMD
What the monthly price covers
Medication
Included
Provider visits
Included
Shipping
Included
Lab work
Not disclosed
Coaching
Not disclosed
Score breakdown
Both providers are scored on the same six-dimension framework. The gradient bar marks the stronger side on each dimension.
NewSelf
8.3/10
StaveMD
7.1/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
Features & Coverage
| Feature | NewSelf | StaveMD |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | ✓$100/mo | $149/mo |
| Features | 6 features | ✓8 features |
| States Available | 49 | Not disclosed |
| Compounded | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| Brand Name | — | — |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | — | ✓ Yes |
| FDA Warnings | 1 warning | ✓None |
About NewSelf
NewSelf offers compounded semaglutide+ (with B12/Glycine, from $99.97/mo) and compounded tirzepatide+ (with B6/Glycine, from $144.49/mo). LegitScript certified. Available in 48 states + Puerto Rico. Uses 503A licensed pharmacies with third-party testing.
Read our full NewSelf review →About StaveMD
StaveMD is a telehealth brand that prescribes compounded semaglutide (injection or dissolving tablet), tirzepatide and low-dose microdose programs through OpenLoop's clinician network, with named compounding pharmacies and free shipping. Month-to-month plans start at $149 for semaglutide and $199 for tirzepatide. The "from $109/mo" headline is the 52-week plan, charged as $1,417 upfront.
Read our full StaveMD review →Pros & Cons
NewSelf
What we like
- Semaglutide+ from $99.97/mo — among the lowest prices in the dataset
- All dosages at the same price — no price escalation as dose increases
- LegitScript certified with 503A licensed pharmacies
- Third-party potency, sterility, and endotoxicity testing
- 48 states + Puerto Rico coverage
- B12/B6 + Glycine enhanced formulations
- No membership fees
Watch-outs
- Not available in Mississippi and Louisiana
- Compounded only — no brand-name options
- Site also promotes AI health optimization and longevity (broader platform)
StaveMD
What we like
- Month-to-month semaglutide injections at $149 per 4 weeks, with no membership fee on top
- Offers injections, a daily dissolving semaglutide tablet, and low-dose microdose programs for semaglutide or tirzepatide
- Names its prescribing group (OpenLoop Healthcare Partners) and four fulfilling pharmacies, with addresses, in its terms
- Cancel any time from your account, with no phone call and no notice period
- Full refund if a provider decides treatment isn't right for you, since no medication is ordered
- Free shipping, and the site says plans are HSA/FSA eligible
Watch-outs
- The "from $109/mo" headline is the 52-week plan, charged as $1,417 upfront; month-to-month semaglutide is $149
- Plans are labeled "/mo" but bill every 4 weeks, which is 13 charges a year, not 12
- The full price list only appears after the whole health intake and your name, address, phone and email
- "Trusted by millions" and "2,000,003+ members" are OpenLoop network totals, not StaveMD patients, per its own footer
- The homepage says "LegitScript-certified," but no certification record exists for the site in LegitScript's directory
- Refundability of unused months on a prepaid 12, 24 or 52-week plan is not spelled out
- Support is email-only; no phone number is published
Our Verdict
NewSelf edges out StaveMD with a higher overall score of 8.3/10 and is particularly strong for lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency. StaveMD remains a solid alternative, especially if you're looking for people who want semaglutide, tirzepatide, an oral tablet or a microdose from one brand, billed monthly.
Choose NewSelf if…
You want lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency and a starting price around $100/mo.
Choose StaveMD if…
You want people who want semaglutide, tirzepatide, an oral tablet or a microdose from one brand, billed monthly and a starting price around $149/mo.
Ready to start? Vetted GLP-1 providers
Vetted telehealth providers that prescribe GLP-1 online.
No insurance needed · vetted by our editors
WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more
Willow
Mainstream telehealth GLP-1 access
From $299/mo
Get started →Fella Health
Men's weight loss
From $165/mo
Get started →Sunlight
Compounded GLP-1 with unlimited telehealth visits and free shipping
From $88/mo
Get started →NewSelf vs StaveMD: FAQ
Key terms, explained
New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.
- Semaglutide · Drugs and brands
- Tirzepatide · Drugs and brands
- Compounded GLP-1 · Pharmacy and drug forms
- 503A pharmacy · Pharmacy and drug forms
- PCAB accreditation · Pharmacy and drug forms
- Prior authorization (PA) · Insurance and regulatory
- Off-label use · Insurance and regulatory
- FDA Drug Shortage List · Insurance and regulatory
Related comparisons
Continue exploring NewSelf and StaveMD head-to-heads in the same category.
- NewSelf vs Amazon One Medical
- NewSelf vs Vytora Health
- NewSelf vs Collective
- StaveMD vs CoreAge Rx
- StaveMD vs EverSlim
- StaveMD vs Found
Or see the full category ranking.
Wegovy®, Ozempic®, and Rybelsus® are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. All other product names and trademarks referenced on this page belong to their respective owners. WeightLossRankings.org is not affiliated with any pharmaceutical manufacturer. See trademark disclaimer.