Always verify pricing and state availability on the provider's website before signing up.How our reviews work →

NewSelf vs Prescriva

An in-depth comparison of two leading GLP-1 Providers

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

By Eli Marsden · Founding Editor
Editorially reviewed & fact-checked against primary sources · How we verify contentLast reviewed
NewSelf logo

NewSelf

8.3
★★★★☆4.2/5

Best for: lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency

Visit NewSelf →
VS
Prescriva logo

Prescriva

7.0
★★★★☆3.5/5

Best for: people who want compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide with the pharmacy names published up front

Visit Prescriva →

NewSelf and Prescriva are both GLP-1 Providers competing for the same patients, but they make different trade-offs on price, coverage, and what's included. In our scoring, NewSelf starts lower at $100/mo versus $249/mo, and NewSelf edges ahead overall (8.3 vs 7.0 out of 10). Below we break down pricing, what each plan covers, the six-dimension score, pros and cons, and exactly who should pick which.

Pricing

NewSelf

Semaglutide+ (best price)Compounded
$100/mo
semaglutide

All dosages same price

Semaglutide+ (regular)Compounded
$135/mo
semaglutide
Tirzepatide+ (best price)Compounded
$144/mo
tirzepatide

All dosages same price

Tirzepatide+ (regular)Compounded
$225/mo
tirzepatide

Prescriva

Month-to-month plan, weekly injection, charged every 4 weeksCompounded
$249/mo
semaglutide

Charged every 28 days (13 charges a year). 12, 24 and 48-week supplies cost $657, $1,194 and $2,327, each paid upfront

Month-to-month plan, daily dissolving tablet, charged every 4 weeksCompounded
$279/mo
semaglutide

Charged every 28 days. 12, 24 and 48-week supplies cost $777, $1,434 and $2,717, each paid upfront

Month-to-month plan, weekly injection, charged every 4 weeksCompounded
$339/mo
tirzepatide

Charged every 28 days (13 charges a year). 12, 24 and 48-week supplies cost $927, $1,734 and $3,497, each paid upfront

Get alerted when GLP-1 prices drop

Join the GLP-1 price-watch list — we re-verify 540+ providers' prices on their own sites and email you when tracked prices move.

What’s included

NewSelf

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Included

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Not disclosed

Prescriva

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Included

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Not disclosed

Score breakdown

Both providers are scored on the same six-dimension framework. The gradient bar marks the stronger side on each dimension.

NewSelf

8.3/10

Overall

Prescriva

7.0/10

Value25%

9.0A
vs
B
7.0

Effectiveness25%

8.0A
vs
B
8.0

User Experience15%

8.0A
vs
B
6.5

Trust & Safety15%

8.3A
vs
B
6.0

Accessibility10%

8.5A
vs
B
7.0

Support10%

7.9A
vs
B
7.0

Features & Coverage

FeatureNewSelfPrescriva
Starting Price✓$100/mo$249/mo
Features6 features6 features
States Available49Not disclosed
Compounded✓ Yes✓ Yes
Brand Name——
FSA/HSA Accepted—✓ Yes
FDA Warnings1 warning✓None

About NewSelf

NewSelf offers compounded semaglutide+ (with B12/Glycine, from $99.97/mo) and compounded tirzepatide+ (with B6/Glycine, from $144.49/mo). LegitScript certified. Available in 48 states + Puerto Rico. Uses 503A licensed pharmacies with third-party testing.

Read our full NewSelf review →

About Prescriva

Prescriva is a Sacramento telehealth platform that sells compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide, with prescribing by OpenLoop Health clinicians and three named compounding pharmacies. Plans cost $249 for semaglutide injections, $279 for semaglutide tablets and $339 for tirzepatide, charged every 4 weeks rather than monthly.

Read our full Prescriva review →

Pros & Cons

NewSelf

What we like

  • Semaglutide+ from $99.97/mo — among the lowest prices in the dataset
  • All dosages at the same price — no price escalation as dose increases
  • LegitScript certified with 503A licensed pharmacies
  • Third-party potency, sterility, and endotoxicity testing
  • 48 states + Puerto Rico coverage
  • B12/B6 + Glycine enhanced formulations
  • No membership fees

Watch-outs

  • Not available in Mississippi and Louisiana
  • Compounded only — no brand-name options
  • Site also promotes AI health optimization and longevity (broader platform)

Prescriva

What we like

  • Names its medical group, OpenLoop Health, and all three dispensing pharmacies with addresses in its terms
  • Injection plan prices are listed on the site before you start the assessment
  • The price covers the clinician visit, the medication and free priority shipping, with no separate membership fee
  • Offers semaglutide as a weekly injection or a daily dissolving tablet, plus tirzepatide injections
  • You get a full refund of the current charge if the clinician decides treatment is not right for you
  • You can cancel or pause from your patient dashboard, with no cancellation fee
  • Publishes a support phone number, and HSA or FSA cards are accepted

Watch-outs

  • Plans are charged every 4 weeks, so a year brings 13 charges rather than 12, though the site says per month
  • The $194 semaglutide figure is a 48-week supply paid upfront at $2,327 and divided by 12, not a monthly price
  • The pricing page also shows a $109 starting price and a $289 semaglutide price that match no plan in checkout
  • You pay at checkout before a clinician reviews your answers
  • Refunds stop once a clinician consultation is completed or medication ships, and partial cycles are not refunded
  • The intake requires you to agree to text messages before you can continue
  • The intake shows an "Excellent 4.9" rating with no source, while the company's review profile has no reviews yet
  • The terms say service is offered in all 50 states, but the FAQ says most states

Our Verdict

Winner: NewSelf

NewSelf edges out Prescriva with a higher overall score of 8.3/10 and is particularly strong for lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency. Prescriva remains a solid alternative, especially if you're looking for people who want compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide with the pharmacy names published up front.

Choose NewSelf if…

You want lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency and a starting price around $100/mo.

Choose Prescriva if…

You want people who want compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide with the pharmacy names published up front and a starting price around $249/mo.

Ready to start? Vetted GLP-1 providers

Vetted telehealth providers that prescribe GLP-1 online.

No insurance needed · vetted by our editors

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

6.9

DudeMeds

Men seeking no-fee GLP-1 access with oral and injectable options

8.1

Oak

Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide at a flat monthly price

7.1

Bodybuilding Health+

Fitness-brand compounded GLP-1 with hormone and performance programs

NewSelf vs Prescriva: FAQ

NewSelf is cheaper. Its lowest ongoing monthly cash price is $100/mo, compared with $249/mo for Prescriva. We compare standing (not first-month promo) prices so the figures reflect what you'd actually pay month to month.
NewSelf scores higher overall at 8.3/10 versus 7.0/10, and is particularly strong for lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency. That said, Prescriva is a better fit if you want people who want compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide with the pharmacy names published up front.
NewSelf lists availability in 49 states, while Prescriva's state list is not publicly listed.
Neither NewSelf nor Prescriva is currently an affiliate partner, so we earn no commission from either. We rank all providers editorially using the same six-dimension framework and disclose any commercial relationships.
For Semaglutide, NewSelf is cheaper at $100/mo versus $249/mo at Prescriva.

Key terms, explained

New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.

Continue exploring NewSelf and Prescriva head-to-heads in the same category.

Or see the full category ranking.

Wegovy®, Ozempic®, and Rybelsus® are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. All other product names and trademarks referenced on this page belong to their respective owners. WeightLossRankings.org is not affiliated with any pharmaceutical manufacturer. See trademark disclaimer.