Always verify pricing and state availability on the provider's website before signing up.How our reviews work →

Iron Med RX vs NewSelf

An in-depth comparison of two leading GLP-1 Providers

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

By Eli Marsden · Founding Editor
Editorially reviewed & fact-checked against primary sources · How we verify contentLast reviewed
Iron Med RX logo

Iron Med RX

6.3
★★★☆☆3.2/5

Best for: oral or injectable compounded GLP-1, one provider, account-gated pricing

Visit Iron Med RX
VS
NewSelf logo

NewSelf

8.3
★★★★4.2/5

Best for: lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency

Visit NewSelf

Iron Med RX and NewSelf are both GLP-1 Providers competing for the same patients, but they make different trade-offs on price, coverage, and what's included. In our scoring, NewSelf starts lower at $100/mo versus $149/mo, and NewSelf edges ahead overall (8.3 vs 6.3 out of 10). Below we break down pricing, what each plan covers, the six-dimension score, pros and cons, and exactly who should pick which.

Pricing

Iron Med RX

GLP-1 injection — molecule NOT named by the sellercompounded injection
$149/mo
semaglutide

'Starting at $149 — GLP-1 Injections — one simple injection per week', with no insurance required, free shipping and no membership fee. Iron Med RX does not say which GLP-1 medication this is.

GLP-1 dissolvable tablet — molecule NOT named by the sellercompounded oral
$149/mo
semaglutide

NewSelf

Semaglutide+ (best price)Compounded
$100/mo
semaglutide

All dosages same price

Semaglutide+ (regular)Compounded
$135/mo
semaglutide
Tirzepatide+ (best price)Compounded
$144/mo
tirzepatide

All dosages same price

Tirzepatide+ (regular)Compounded
$225/mo
tirzepatide

Get alerted when GLP-1 prices drop

Join the GLP-1 price-watch list — we re-verify 500+ providers' prices on their own sites and email you when tracked prices move.

What’s included

Iron Med RX

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Included

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Included

NewSelf

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Included

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Not disclosed

Score breakdown

Both providers are scored on the same six-dimension framework. The gradient bar marks the stronger side on each dimension.

Iron Med RX

6.3/10

Overall

NewSelf

8.3/10

Value25%

6.0A
vs
B
9.0

Effectiveness25%

7.0A
vs
B
8.0

User Experience15%

6.0A
vs
B
8.0

Trust & Safety15%

5.5A
vs
B
8.3

Accessibility10%

6.5A
vs
B
8.5

Support10%

6.9A
vs
B
7.9

Features & Coverage

FeatureIron Med RXNewSelf
Starting Price$149/mo$100/mo
Features8 features6 features
States AvailableNot disclosed49
Compounded✓ Yes
Brand Name
FSA/HSA Accepted
FDA WarningsNone1 warning

About Iron Med RX

Iron Med RX (IRON RX Telehealth) is a Dallas-based online weight-loss provider selling a 'GLP-1 Injection' and a 'GLP-1 Tablet', both at $149 to start, with free shipping and no membership fee. It names no molecule anywhere on either of its live sites — not semaglutide, tirzepatide or liraglutide — and does not list the states it serves or name its compounding pharmacy.

Read our full Iron Med RX review →

About NewSelf

NewSelf offers compounded semaglutide+ (with B12/Glycine, from $99.97/mo) and compounded tirzepatide+ (with B6/Glycine, from $144.49/mo). LegitScript certified. Available in 48 states + Puerto Rico. Uses 503A licensed pharmacies with third-party testing.

Read our full NewSelf review →

Pros & Cons

Iron Med RX

What we like

  • Unusually broad GLP-1 lineup — compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide in both oral tablets and injection, plus microdosing and longevity add-ons
  • Online process with licensed-provider oversight, virtual consults, progress tracking and home delivery
  • Oral tablet options for people who would rather not inject

Watch-outs

  • Prices are not shown publicly — you only see costs after creating an account, so you cannot compare value upfront
  • Labels its oral semaglutide 'research-grade' — wording usually tied to research/non-prescription peptides; confirm it is prescribed for human use
  • Does not name its compounding pharmacy or list the states it serves; the listed address is a private mailbox (PMB), not a clinic
  • Compounded GLP-1 only — no brand-name or insurance options; small, lightly documented operation

NewSelf

What we like

  • Semaglutide+ from $99.97/mo — among the lowest prices in the dataset
  • All dosages at the same price — no price escalation as dose increases
  • LegitScript certified with 503A licensed pharmacies
  • Third-party potency, sterility, and endotoxicity testing
  • 48 states + Puerto Rico coverage
  • B12/B6 + Glycine enhanced formulations
  • No membership fees

Watch-outs

  • Not available in Mississippi and Louisiana
  • Compounded only — no brand-name options
  • Site also promotes AI health optimization and longevity (broader platform)

Our Verdict

Winner: NewSelf

NewSelf edges out Iron Med RX with a higher overall score of 8.3/10 and is particularly strong for lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency. Iron Med RX remains a solid alternative, especially if you're looking for oral or injectable compounded GLP-1, one provider, account-gated pricing.

Choose Iron Med RX if…

You want oral or injectable compounded GLP-1, one provider, account-gated pricing and a starting price around $149/mo.

Choose NewSelf if…

You want lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency and a starting price around $100/mo.

Ready to start? Vetted GLP-1 providers

Vetted telehealth providers that prescribe GLP-1 online.

No insurance needed · vetted by our editors

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

8.0

Sesame Care

Brand-name GLP-1s at cash prices, no compounding

8.3

Collective

The lowest flat medication price if you can absorb an annual membership fee

6.9

Try Ageless

Lowest-tier compounded GLP-1 in injection, troche and sublingual forms

Iron Med RX vs NewSelf: FAQ

NewSelf is cheaper. Its lowest ongoing monthly cash price is $100/mo, compared with $149/mo for Iron Med RX. We compare standing (not first-month promo) prices so the figures reflect what you'd actually pay month to month.
NewSelf scores higher overall at 8.3/10 versus 6.3/10, and is particularly strong for lowest-cost compounded GLP-1 with pharmacy quality transparency. That said, Iron Med RX is a better fit if you want oral or injectable compounded GLP-1, one provider, account-gated pricing.
NewSelf lists availability in 49 states, while Iron Med RX's state list is not publicly listed.
Neither Iron Med RX nor NewSelf is currently an affiliate partner, so we earn no commission from either. We rank all providers editorially using the same six-dimension framework and disclose any commercial relationships.
For Semaglutide, NewSelf is cheaper at $100/mo versus $149/mo at Iron Med RX.

Key terms, explained

New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.

Continue exploring Iron Med RX and NewSelf head-to-heads in the same category.

Or see the full category ranking.

Wegovy®, Ozempic®, and Rybelsus® are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. All other product names and trademarks referenced on this page belong to their respective owners. WeightLossRankings.org is not affiliated with any pharmaceutical manufacturer. See trademark disclaimer.