Always verify pricing and state availability on the provider's website before signing up.How our reviews work →

1st Optimal vs Sesame Care

An in-depth comparison of two leading GLP-1 Providers

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

By Eli Marsden · Founding Editor
Editorially reviewed & fact-checked against primary sources · How we verify contentLast reviewed
1st Optimal logo

1st Optimal

6.7
★★★☆☆3.4/5

Best for: GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program

Visit 1st Optimal
VS
Sesame Care logo

Sesame Care

8.0
★★★★4/5

Best for: Brand-name GLP-1s at cash prices, no compounding

Visit Sesame Care

1st Optimal and Sesame Care are both GLP-1 Providers competing for the same patients, but they make different trade-offs on price, coverage, and what's included. In our scoring, 1st Optimal starts lower at $99/mo versus $149/mo, and Sesame Care edges ahead overall (8.0 vs 6.7 out of 10). Below we break down pricing, what each plan covers, the six-dimension score, pros and cons, and exactly who should pick which.

Pricing

1st Optimal

Weight Loss Care membership — medication not includedBrand-name
$99/mo
semaglutide

Care membership only — the GLP-1 medication is billed separately and is not priced.

Sesame Care

Annual planCompounded
$59/mo
clinical care only — medication billed separately

Month-to-Month $99/mo, 3-Month $39/mo, 6-Month $49/mo, Annual $59/mo; includes video visits, unlimited messaging, follow-ups, labs (savings $60/3mo, $180/6mo, $480/yr)

all doses 0.25-2.4mgCompounded
$349$199/mo
Save 43% right now
semaglutide (wegovy)

$199/mo first two months, new self-pay patients, lowest doses (0.25/0.5mg) only; FAQ terms state offer valid through 2026-06-30 but $199 still advertised on 2026-07-14

1.5mg / 4mgCompounded · oral
$149/mo
semaglutide (wegovy)

low doses

9mg / 25mgCompounded · oral
$299/mo
semaglutide (wegovy)

high doses; maintenance dose $50/mo cheaper than Wegovy injection

0.25mg / 0.5mg / 1mgCompounded
$349$199/mo
Save 43% right now
semaglutide (ozempic)

NEW published pricing: $199 first two months (same new-self-pay intro terms as Wegovy); 2mg is $499/mo

2.5mgCompounded
$299/mo
tirzepatide (zepbound)

$399/mo for 5mg; $449/mo for 7.5mg, 10mg, 12.5mg, 15mg — unchanged vs stored

2.5mgCompounded
$299/mo
tirzepatide (zepbound)

$399/mo 5mg, $499/mo 7.5mg, $699/mo 10-15mg (program page shows $398/$698 — Sesame's own pages disagree by $1)

starts atCompounded
$1086/mo
tirzepatide (zepbound)

NEW row on program page: 'Zepbound® Tirzepatide Starts at $1,086 per / mo' (retail-channel pen, distinct from LillyDirect KwikPen)

0.8mgCompounded · oral
$149/mo
orforglipron (foundayo)

$199/mo at 2.5mg, $299 at 5.5mg and 9mg, $349 at 14.5mg and 17.2mg.

as low asCompounded
$25/mo
semaglutide or tirzepatide (with commercial insurance)

'Price with insurance: as low as $25 per / mo.' — copay varies by plan/PA outcome

Get alerted when GLP-1 prices drop

Join the GLP-1 price-watch list — we re-verify 500+ providers' prices on their own sites and email you when tracked prices move.

What’s included

1st Optimal

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Not disclosed

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Included

Sesame Care

Inclusions not disclosed.

Score breakdown

Both providers are scored on the same six-dimension framework. The gradient bar marks the stronger side on each dimension.

1st Optimal

6.7/10

Overall

Sesame Care

8.0/10

Value25%

6.5A
vs
B
7.5

Effectiveness25%

7.0A
vs
B
9.0

User Experience15%

6.5A
vs
B
8.0

Trust & Safety15%

6.5A
vs
B
8.0

Accessibility10%

6.5A
vs
B
6.5

Support10%

7.4A
vs
B
8.0

Features & Coverage

Feature1st OptimalSesame Care
Starting Price$99/mo$149/mo
Features8 features8 features
States AvailableNot disclosedNot disclosed
Compounded✓ Yes
Brand Name✓ Yes
FSA/HSA Accepted
FDA WarningsNoneNone

About 1st Optimal

1st Optimal is a Michigan-based telehealth and functional-medicine platform offering GLP-1 weight loss medications, including semaglutide and tirzepatide, as once-weekly injections or daily oral tablets. Its model pairs prescription GLP-1 therapy with at-home lab testing, blood-work interpretation, unlimited coaching, and personalized protocols framed around long-term weight loss and longevity. Care is delivered virtually by credentialed providers, and treatments ship to the home with no long-term contracts. The site does not publish monthly pricing or a state list.

Read our full 1st Optimal review →

About Sesame Care

Sesame is a transparent-pricing telehealth marketplace that connects patients directly with independent provider practices — distinct from the stocked-formulary model of most weight-loss platforms. Its weight-loss vertical is brand-name only (no compounding): a $39–$99/month subscription covers clinical care, while medication is billed separately at cash-pay rates, including Zepbound from $299 via LillyDirect and a Wegovy self-pay promo at $199/month.

Read our full Sesame Care review →

Pros & Cons

1st Optimal

What we like

  • Offers both semaglutide and tirzepatide with injectable and oral formats
  • Functional-medicine approach with at-home labs and blood-work interpretation
  • Unlimited coaching and ongoing support included
  • No long-term contracts
  • Board-certified doctors and nurse practitioners referenced

Watch-outs

  • No public monthly pricing disclosed
  • No published state availability list
  • Compounded vs branded sourcing not clarified on site
  • Pricing only revealed after quiz or consultation

Sesame Care

What we like

  • Marketplace transparency — pick a named provider with a displayed price before booking, unlike most opaque telehealth intake
  • BBB-accredited and LegitScript-verified
  • LillyDirect partnership unlocks Zepbound vial and KwikPen cash pricing matching Lilly's lowest direct rates ($299 at lowest dose)
  • Wegovy self-pay promo ($199/mo for first two months, lowest dose, new self-pay) — among the lowest brand-Wegovy cash prices
  • Honest subscription scope — clinical care only, medication billed separately
  • Stocks both Wegovy pill ($149/mo low doses) and Foundayo orforglipron alongside injectables
  • Lab work included in subscription for 41 states (excludes AZ/HI/ND/NJ/NY/OK/RI/SD/WY)
  • Insurance route ($25/mo possible) is viable — providers assist with prior authorization

Watch-outs

  • Marketplace model means clinician credentials and quality vary provider to provider
  • Statewide availability can't be listed — it depends on which marketplace providers are licensed in your state
  • No in-house pharmacy — fulfillment splits across LillyDirect, NovoCare, and your retail pharmacy
  • Restrictive refunds — full refund only if you cancel 3+ hours before the first visit; no refund once the visit occurs
  • Subscription commitment required — no genuine pay-per-visit option for weight loss
  • Wegovy $199/mo promo applies only to new self-pay patients at the lowest dose; $349/mo after month 2
  • Wegovy pill high doses ($299/mo for 9mg/25mg) cost about 2x the low-dose price as you titrate up
  • Zepbound KwikPen high doses ($699/mo for 10–15mg) approach Lilly's list price

Our Verdict

Winner: Sesame Care

Sesame Care edges out 1st Optimal with a higher overall score of 8.0/10 and is particularly strong for Brand-name GLP-1s at cash prices, no compounding. 1st Optimal remains a solid alternative, especially if you're looking for GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program.

Choose 1st Optimal if…

You want GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program and a starting price around $99/mo.

Choose Sesame Care if…

You want Brand-name GLP-1s at cash prices, no compounding and a starting price around $149/mo.

Ready to start? Vetted GLP-1 providers

Vetted telehealth providers that prescribe GLP-1 online.

No insurance needed · vetted by our editors

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

8.3

Found

Mainstream telehealth GLP-1 access

7.1

Bodybuilding Health+

Fitness-brand compounded GLP-1 with hormone and performance programs

7.4

Brightmeds

Compounded or brand GLP-1 bundled with TRT and peptides for men

1st Optimal vs Sesame Care: FAQ

1st Optimal is cheaper. Its lowest ongoing monthly cash price is $99/mo, compared with $149/mo for Sesame Care. We compare standing (not first-month promo) prices so the figures reflect what you'd actually pay month to month.
Sesame Care scores higher overall at 8.0/10 versus 6.7/10, and is particularly strong for Brand-name GLP-1s at cash prices, no compounding. That said, 1st Optimal is a better fit if you want GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program.
Neither 1st Optimal nor Sesame Care publicly lists its exact state availability. Most national GLP-1 telehealth providers operate in the majority of states — confirm your state is covered during sign-up.
Sesame Care is an affiliate partner (we may earn a commission on sign-ups through our links); 1st Optimal is not. Either way, we rank providers editorially with the same scoring framework and disclose every partnership — being a partner does not buy a higher score.

Key terms, explained

New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.

Continue exploring 1st Optimal and Sesame Care head-to-heads in the same category.

Or see the full category ranking.

Wegovy®, Ozempic®, and Rybelsus® are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. All other product names and trademarks referenced on this page belong to their respective owners. WeightLossRankings.org is not affiliated with any pharmaceutical manufacturer. See trademark disclaimer.