Always verify pricing and state availability on the provider's website before signing up.How our reviews work →

1st Optimal vs MEDGm

An in-depth comparison of two leading GLP-1 Providers

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

By Eli Marsden · Founding Editor
Editorially reviewed & fact-checked against primary sources · How we verify contentLast reviewed
1st Optimal logo

1st Optimal

6.7
★★★☆☆3.4/5

Best for: GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program

Visit 1st Optimal
VS
MEDGm logo

MEDGm

7.3
★★★3.7/5

Best for: brand Wegovy, Zepbound or Ozempic access alongside cheaper compounded GLP-1

Visit MEDGm

1st Optimal and MEDGm are both GLP-1 Providers competing for the same patients, but they make different trade-offs on price, coverage, and what's included. In our scoring, 1st Optimal starts lower at $99/mo versus $179/mo, and MEDGm edges ahead overall (7.3 vs 6.7 out of 10). Below we break down pricing, what each plan covers, the six-dimension score, pros and cons, and exactly who should pick which.

Pricing

1st Optimal

Weight Loss Care membership — medication not includedBrand-name
$99/mo
semaglutide

Care membership only — the GLP-1 medication is billed separately and is not priced.

MEDGm

Compounded GLP-1 injection (weekly), monthly planCompounded
$179/mo

'Starting at $179' on medgm.org/glp-1. MEDGm never names the molecule for its compounded products on the public site. 3-, 6- and 12-month bundles exist but are priced only at checkout, behind a name/email/phone gate.

Compounded GLP-1 oral tablet (one dissolvable tablet daily)Compounded
$249/mo

'Starting at $249' on medgm.org/glp-1, verified 2026-09-01. Molecule not published.

Program membership fee (brand Zepbound billed separately)Brand-name
$99/mo
tirzepatide

'$99 Membership + Cost' — the medication cost is not published. 'Availability is subject to change.'

Program membership fee (brand Wegovy pill or pen billed separately)Brand-name
$99/mo
semaglutide

'$99 Membership + Cost' — the medication cost is not published. 'Availability is subject to change.'

Program membership fee (brand Ozempic billed separately)Brand-name
$171/mo
semaglutide

'$171 Membership + Cost' — the medication cost is not published. Ozempic is FDA-approved for type 2 diabetes and prescribed off-label here.

Get alerted when GLP-1 prices drop

Join the GLP-1 price-watch list — we re-verify 500+ providers' prices on their own sites and email you when tracked prices move.

What’s included

1st Optimal

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Not disclosed

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Included

MEDGm

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Included

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Not disclosed

Score breakdown

Both providers are scored on the same six-dimension framework. The gradient bar marks the stronger side on each dimension.

1st Optimal

6.7/10

Overall

MEDGm

7.3/10

Value25%

6.5A
vs
B
7.5

Effectiveness25%

7.0A
vs
B
7.5

User Experience15%

6.5A
vs
B
7.0

Trust & Safety15%

6.5A
vs
B
6.5

Accessibility10%

6.5A
vs
B
7.5

Support10%

7.4A
vs
B
7.5

Features & Coverage

Feature1st OptimalMEDGm
Starting Price$99/mo$179/mo
Features8 features8 features
States AvailableNot disclosed51
Compounded✓ Yes
Brand Name✓ Yes✓ Yes
FSA/HSA Accepted
FDA WarningsNoneNone

About 1st Optimal

1st Optimal is a Michigan-based telehealth and functional-medicine platform offering GLP-1 weight loss medications, including semaglutide and tirzepatide, as once-weekly injections or daily oral tablets. Its model pairs prescription GLP-1 therapy with at-home lab testing, blood-work interpretation, unlimited coaching, and personalized protocols framed around long-term weight loss and longevity. Care is delivered virtually by credentialed providers, and treatments ship to the home with no long-term contracts. The site does not publish monthly pricing or a state list.

Read our full 1st Optimal review →

About MEDGm

MEDGm is a Delaware telehealth platform selling compounded GLP-1 injections from $179/mo and a daily dissolvable GLP-1 tablet from $249/mo, with clinical care delivered by OpenLoop Health providers and four named US compounding pharmacies. Brand Wegovy, Zepbound and Ozempic are offered as a membership fee ($99-$171/mo) plus the drug's own cost. Cash-pay only; the plan fee is billed upfront for the term you pick and is non-refundable.

Read our full MEDGm review →

Pros & Cons

1st Optimal

What we like

  • Offers both semaglutide and tirzepatide with injectable and oral formats
  • Functional-medicine approach with at-home labs and blood-work interpretation
  • Unlimited coaching and ongoing support included
  • No long-term contracts
  • Board-certified doctors and nurse practitioners referenced

Watch-outs

  • No public monthly pricing disclosed
  • No published state availability list
  • Compounded vs branded sourcing not clarified on site
  • Pricing only revealed after quiz or consultation

MEDGm

What we like

  • Compounded GLP-1 injections from $179/mo with medication, clinician access and shipping in one price
  • A daily dissolvable tablet for people who do not want to inject, at $249/mo
  • Brand Wegovy, Zepbound and Ozempic available on a membership-plus-medication basis
  • Four named US pharmacy partners with addresses (RedRock, Health Warehouse, Precision Medicine, Triad Rx)
  • Clinical care through the OpenLoop Health provider network; service listed in all 50 states and DC
  • Published support line and email, with a 24/7 patient support line described in the refund policy

Watch-outs

  • The molecule behind the compounded injection and tablet is never named on the public site
  • You pay before a clinician reviews you — the Terms say the consult happens after the fee is charged
  • The plan fee is billed upfront for the whole term and is non-refundable, except for a documented medical disqualification
  • Canceling a 3-, 6- or 12-month bundle mid-term refunds nothing; you must give notice 72 hours before renewal
  • Bundle prices are not shown until you hand over your name, email and phone
  • A Trustpilot five-star badge runs in the quiz, but the Trustpilot profile showed 0 reviews and a 0.0 rating on 2026-09-01
  • Site disclaimers state that images and other content may be AI-generated and that people in ads may be actors or AI
  • Compounded GLP-1s are not FDA-approved

Our Verdict

Winner: MEDGm

MEDGm edges out 1st Optimal with a higher overall score of 7.3/10 and is particularly strong for brand Wegovy, Zepbound or Ozempic access alongside cheaper compounded GLP-1. 1st Optimal remains a solid alternative, especially if you're looking for GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program.

Choose 1st Optimal if…

You want GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program and a starting price around $99/mo.

Choose MEDGm if…

You want brand Wegovy, Zepbound or Ozempic access alongside cheaper compounded GLP-1 and a starting price around $179/mo.

Ready to start? Vetted GLP-1 providers

Vetted telehealth providers that prescribe GLP-1 online.

No insurance needed · vetted by our editors

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

7.3

Liv Body

Compounded GLP-1 paired with a muscle-preservation supplement stack

6.9

DudeMeds

Men seeking no-fee GLP-1 access with oral and injectable options

8.1

Oak

Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide at a flat monthly price

1st Optimal vs MEDGm: FAQ

1st Optimal is cheaper. Its lowest ongoing monthly cash price is $99/mo, compared with $179/mo for MEDGm. We compare standing (not first-month promo) prices so the figures reflect what you'd actually pay month to month.
MEDGm scores higher overall at 7.3/10 versus 6.7/10, and is particularly strong for brand Wegovy, Zepbound or Ozempic access alongside cheaper compounded GLP-1. That said, 1st Optimal is a better fit if you want GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program.
MEDGm lists availability in 51 states, while 1st Optimal's state list is not publicly listed.
MEDGm is an affiliate partner (we may earn a commission on sign-ups through our links); 1st Optimal is not. Either way, we rank providers editorially with the same scoring framework and disclose every partnership — being a partner does not buy a higher score.
1st Optimal and MEDGm list the same lowest price for Semaglutide: $99/mo.

Key terms, explained

New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.

Continue exploring 1st Optimal and MEDGm head-to-heads in the same category.

Or see the full category ranking.

Wegovy®, Ozempic®, and Rybelsus® are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. All other product names and trademarks referenced on this page belong to their respective owners. WeightLossRankings.org is not affiliated with any pharmaceutical manufacturer. See trademark disclaimer.