1st Optimal vs Chia
An in-depth comparison of two leading GLP-1 Providers
WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

1st Optimal
Best for: GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program
Visit 1st Optimal →Chia
Best for: people who want compounded GLP-1 plus peptides like NAD+ or sermorelin on one cash-pay account
Visit Chia →1st Optimal and Chia are both GLP-1 Providers competing for the same patients, but they make different trade-offs on price, coverage, and what's included. In our scoring, 1st Optimal starts lower at $99/mo versus $349/mo, and 1st Optimal edges ahead overall (6.7 vs 6.6 out of 10). Below we break down pricing, what each plan covers, the six-dimension score, pros and cons, and exactly who should pick which.
Pricing
1st Optimal
Care membership only — the GLP-1 medication is billed separately and is not priced.
Chia
4-month plan $299/mo; 6-month plan $249/mo, the "from $249/mo" headline. Committed plans are prepaid or billed per package.
4-month plan $349/mo; 6-month plan $299/mo. A daily tirzepatide tablet is also offered.
Get alerted when GLP-1 prices drop
Join the GLP-1 price-watch list — we re-verify 530+ providers' prices on their own sites and email you when tracked prices move.
What’s included
1st Optimal
What the monthly price covers
Medication
Not disclosed
Provider visits
Included
Shipping
Included
Lab work
Not disclosed
Coaching
Included
Chia
What the monthly price covers
Medication
Included
Provider visits
Included
Shipping
Included
Lab work
Not disclosed
Coaching
Not disclosed
Score breakdown
Both providers are scored on the same six-dimension framework. The gradient bar marks the stronger side on each dimension.
1st Optimal
6.7/10
Chia
6.6/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
Features & Coverage
| Feature | 1st Optimal | Chia |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | ✓$99/mo | $349/mo |
| Features | 8 features | 8 features |
| States Available | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Compounded | — | ✓ Yes |
| Brand Name | ✓ Yes | — |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | — | ✓ Yes |
| FDA Warnings | None | None |
About 1st Optimal
1st Optimal is a Michigan-based telehealth and functional-medicine platform offering GLP-1 weight loss medications, including semaglutide and tirzepatide, as once-weekly injections or daily oral tablets. Its model pairs prescription GLP-1 therapy with at-home lab testing, blood-work interpretation, unlimited coaching, and personalized protocols framed around long-term weight loss and longevity. Care is delivered virtually by credentialed providers, and treatments ship to the home with no long-term contracts. The site does not publish monthly pricing or a state list.
Read our full 1st Optimal review →About Chia
Chia is a cash-pay telehealth platform that prescribes compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide alongside peptide and hormone treatments such as NAD+, sermorelin and women's HRT. Month-to-month plans are $349/mo for semaglutide and $399/mo for tirzepatide injections. The "from $249/mo" figures on its product pages are 6-month committed plans, and neither the medical group nor the pharmacies are named.
Read our full Chia review →Pros & Cons
1st Optimal
What we like
- Offers both semaglutide and tirzepatide with injectable and oral formats
- Functional-medicine approach with at-home labs and blood-work interpretation
- Unlimited coaching and ongoing support included
- No long-term contracts
- Board-certified doctors and nurse practitioners referenced
Watch-outs
- No public monthly pricing disclosed
- No published state availability list
- Compounded vs branded sourcing not clarified on site
- Pricing only revealed after quiz or consultation
Chia
What we like
- Month-to-month prices sit on each product page before the quiz: $349/mo for semaglutide and $399/mo for tirzepatide
- Free shipping, and HSA/FSA cards are accepted at checkout
- Full refund before your provider review, before your first shipment, or if a provider finds you ineligible
- First-time weight-loss customers on a monthly plan get a 30-day money-back guarantee, with conditions
- Reachable by phone as well as email, unlike many email-only telehealth brands
- Tirzepatide comes as a weekly injection or a daily tablet, and peptides like NAD+ and sermorelin are on the same account
Watch-outs
- The "from $249/mo" headline is the 6-month committed plan; month-to-month is $349 for semaglutide and $399 for tirzepatide
- The "Save 50%" and "Save 45%" badges do not match the prices shown beside them
- Neither the prescribing medical group nor the compounding pharmacies are named in its terms or policies
- The footer names Chia Health, Inc., while the terms and refund policy name Zerolimit Tech LLC as the operator
- Committed plans auto-renew for the same length, and canceling early reprices the months you received at the monthly rate
- Claims LegitScript certification, but no record could be confirmed in LegitScript's public directory
- On-site ratings of 4.8 and 4.9 stars sit beside a Trustpilot profile with six reviews at 4.1
- Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved
Our Verdict
1st Optimal edges out Chia with a higher overall score of 6.7/10 and is particularly strong for GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program. Chia remains a solid alternative, especially if you're looking for people who want compounded GLP-1 plus peptides like NAD+ or sermorelin on one cash-pay account.
Choose 1st Optimal if…
You want GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program and a starting price around $99/mo.
Choose Chia if…
You want people who want compounded GLP-1 plus peptides like NAD+ or sermorelin on one cash-pay account and a starting price around $349/mo.
Ready to start? Vetted GLP-1 providers
Vetted telehealth providers that prescribe GLP-1 online.
No insurance needed · vetted by our editors
WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more
MadeMed
Compounded GLP-1 in both injection and oral forms
From $219/mo
Get started →Found
Mainstream telehealth GLP-1 access
From $99/mo
Get started →GobyMeds
Budget-conscious shoppers
From $93/mo
Get started →1st Optimal vs Chia: FAQ
Key terms, explained
New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.
- Semaglutide · Drugs and brands
- Tirzepatide · Drugs and brands
- Compounded GLP-1 · Pharmacy and drug forms
- 503A pharmacy · Pharmacy and drug forms
- PCAB accreditation · Pharmacy and drug forms
- Prior authorization (PA) · Insurance and regulatory
- Off-label use · Insurance and regulatory
- FDA Drug Shortage List · Insurance and regulatory
Related comparisons
Continue exploring 1st Optimal and Chia head-to-heads in the same category.
- 1st Optimal vs Amazon One Medical
- 1st Optimal vs Vytora Health
- 1st Optimal vs Collective
- Chia vs CoreAge Rx
- Chia vs EverSlim
- Chia vs Found
Or see the full category ranking.
Wegovy®, Ozempic®, and Rybelsus® are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. All other product names and trademarks referenced on this page belong to their respective owners. WeightLossRankings.org is not affiliated with any pharmaceutical manufacturer. See trademark disclaimer.