Always verify pricing and state availability on the provider's website before signing up.How our reviews work →

1st Optimal vs Maven Clinic

An in-depth comparison of two leading GLP-1 Providers

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

By Eli Marsden · Founding Editor
Editorially reviewed & fact-checked against primary sources · How we verify contentLast reviewed
1st Optimal logo

1st Optimal

6.7
★★★☆☆3.4/5

Best for: GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program

Visit 1st Optimal
VS
Maven Clinic logo

Maven Clinic

7.2
★★★3.6/5

Best for: Brand-name GLP-1 integrated into women's and family virtual care

Visit Maven Clinic

1st Optimal and Maven Clinic are both GLP-1 Providers competing for the same patients, but they make different trade-offs on price, coverage, and what's included. In our scoring, Maven Clinic starts lower at $50/mo versus $99/mo, and Maven Clinic edges ahead overall (7.2 vs 6.7 out of 10). Below we break down pricing, what each plan covers, the six-dimension score, pros and cons, and exactly who should pick which.

Pricing

1st Optimal

Weight Loss Care membership — medication not includedBrand-name
$99/mo
semaglutide

Care membership only — the GLP-1 medication is billed separately and is not priced.

Maven Clinic

Maven GLP-1 program membership (medication billed separately)Brand-name
$150$50/mo
Save 67% right now
semaglutide

"$50 / first month", "Then $150 /month". Medication is quoted separately from $149/mo self-pay, or "Starting from $25/mo with insurance".

Get alerted when GLP-1 prices drop

Join the GLP-1 price-watch list — we re-verify 500+ providers' prices on their own sites and email you when tracked prices move.

What’s included

1st Optimal

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Not disclosed

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Included

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Included

Maven Clinic

What the monthly price covers

Medication

Billed separately

Provider visits

Included

Shipping

Not disclosed

Lab work

Not disclosed

Coaching

Included

Score breakdown

Both providers are scored on the same six-dimension framework. The gradient bar marks the stronger side on each dimension.

1st Optimal

6.7/10

Overall

Maven Clinic

7.2/10

Value25%

6.5A
vs
B
6.5

Effectiveness25%

7.0A
vs
B
7.5

User Experience15%

6.5A
vs
B
7.0

Trust & Safety15%

6.5A
vs
B
8.0

Accessibility10%

6.5A
vs
B
6.5

Support10%

7.4A
vs
B
7.5

Features & Coverage

Feature1st OptimalMaven Clinic
Starting Price$99/mo$50/mo
Features8 features8 features
States AvailableNot disclosedNot disclosed
Compounded
Brand Name✓ Yes✓ Yes
FSA/HSA Accepted
FDA WarningsNoneNone

About 1st Optimal

1st Optimal is a Michigan-based telehealth and functional-medicine platform offering GLP-1 weight loss medications, including semaglutide and tirzepatide, as once-weekly injections or daily oral tablets. Its model pairs prescription GLP-1 therapy with at-home lab testing, blood-work interpretation, unlimited coaching, and personalized protocols framed around long-term weight loss and longevity. Care is delivered virtually by credentialed providers, and treatments ship to the home with no long-term contracts. The site does not publish monthly pricing or a state list.

Read our full 1st Optimal review →

About Maven Clinic

Maven Clinic is a virtual women's and family health platform (fertility, maternity, menopause, pediatrics) used by 2,300+ employers that also runs a dedicated GLP-1 Care program. It pairs brand-name GLP-1 prescriptions with on-demand visits from metabolic and hormone-health specialists plus nutrition and strength support, integrated with its broader hormone and virtual-clinic services. GLP-1 Care is offered both through employer health benefits and as a Maven Consumer self-pay option; pricing is not published on the public site. LegitScript-verified.

Read our full Maven Clinic review →

Pros & Cons

1st Optimal

What we like

  • Offers both semaglutide and tirzepatide with injectable and oral formats
  • Functional-medicine approach with at-home labs and blood-work interpretation
  • Unlimited coaching and ongoing support included
  • No long-term contracts
  • Board-certified doctors and nurse practitioners referenced

Watch-outs

  • No public monthly pricing disclosed
  • No published state availability list
  • Compounded vs branded sourcing not clarified on site
  • Pricing only revealed after quiz or consultation

Maven Clinic

What we like

  • Dedicated GLP-1 Care program with brand-name (FDA-approved) GLP-1 prescriptions
  • On-demand visits with metabolic and hormone-health specialists, plus nutrition and strength support
  • Integrated with broader women's, hormone, and family health care
  • LegitScript-verified; trusted by 2,300+ employers
  • Available as both an employer health benefit and a consumer self-pay option

Watch-outs

  • Pricing is not published on the public site
  • Primarily distributed through employers and health plans — direct access can depend on your plan
  • US state availability for GLP-1 is not specified publicly
  • Brand-name only — no lower-cost compounded option

Our Verdict

Winner: Maven Clinic

Maven Clinic edges out 1st Optimal with a higher overall score of 7.2/10 and is particularly strong for Brand-name GLP-1 integrated into women's and family virtual care. 1st Optimal remains a solid alternative, especially if you're looking for GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program.

Choose 1st Optimal if…

You want GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program and a starting price around $99/mo.

Choose Maven Clinic if…

You want Brand-name GLP-1 integrated into women's and family virtual care and a starting price around $50/mo.

Ready to start? Vetted GLP-1 providers

Vetted telehealth providers that prescribe GLP-1 online.

No insurance needed · vetted by our editors

WeightLossRankings.org is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

7.1

Bodybuilding Health+

Fitness-brand compounded GLP-1 with hormone and performance programs

7.4

Brightmeds

Compounded or brand GLP-1 bundled with TRT and peptides for men

6.4

Direct Meds

Listed for disclosure only — see its FDA warning and BBB complaints first

1st Optimal vs Maven Clinic: FAQ

Maven Clinic is cheaper. Its lowest ongoing monthly cash price is $50/mo, compared with $99/mo for 1st Optimal. We compare standing (not first-month promo) prices so the figures reflect what you'd actually pay month to month.
Maven Clinic scores higher overall at 7.2/10 versus 6.7/10, and is particularly strong for Brand-name GLP-1 integrated into women's and family virtual care. That said, 1st Optimal is a better fit if you want GLP-1 therapy within a lab-driven functional-medicine program.
Neither 1st Optimal nor Maven Clinic publicly lists its exact state availability. Most national GLP-1 telehealth providers operate in the majority of states — confirm your state is covered during sign-up.
Neither 1st Optimal nor Maven Clinic is currently an affiliate partner, so we earn no commission from either. We rank all providers editorially using the same six-dimension framework and disclose any commercial relationships.
For Semaglutide, Maven Clinic is cheaper at $50/mo versus $99/mo at 1st Optimal.

Key terms, explained

New to GLP-1s? Tap any term for a quick, plain-English definition.

Continue exploring 1st Optimal and Maven Clinic head-to-heads in the same category.

Or see the full category ranking.

Wegovy®, Ozempic®, and Rybelsus® are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. All other product names and trademarks referenced on this page belong to their respective owners. WeightLossRankings.org is not affiliated with any pharmaceutical manufacturer. See trademark disclaimer.